IU president recognizes faculty for their outstanding teaching and service

This spring, six Indiana University faculty and two graduate students were honored for their teaching and service at an event hosted by IU President Michael A. McRobbie.

"Teaching and service are at the heart of great public universities like Indiana University," McRobbie said. "Teaching is the most immediate way in which we fulfill our missions of creating opportunity, of building the foundations for personally and professionally rewarding lives, and of educating an active, informed, and productive citizenry."

IU President McRobbie with the recipients of IU's teaching and service awards
IU President McRobbie speaks next to award recipient Cathrine Reck
IU President McRobbie shakes hands with award recipient Michael Karlin

From the top: IU President Michael A. McRobbie (center) with the teaching and service award recipients; McRobbie shares remarks about Cathrine Reck who received the W. George Pinnell Award; McRobbie presents Michael Karlin with the Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award.  Photos by Chaz Mottinger, Indiana University

The award recipients were Mary A. Cooksey, senior lecturer in the School of Humanities and Fine Arts at IU East; Marjorie Hershey, professor and associate chair of political science and director of undergraduate studies in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington; Tin-Chun Lin, professor of economics in the School of Business and Economics at IU Northwest; Marla C. Doehring, assistant professor of clinical emergency medicine in the IU School of Medicine at IUPUI; IU Bloomington doctoral students Michael Karlin in the Department of Instructional Systems Technology in the School of Education and Elizabeth Maffetone in the Department of English in the College of Arts and Sciences; Terrence Mason, professor and dean emeritus of IU Bloomington's School of Education; and Cathrine Reck, director of undergraduate studies and professor of chemistry in the Department of Chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington.  

"The faculty members we honor this evening have demonstrated enthusiastic dedication to their disciplines, and extraordinary devotion to their students," McRobbie said. "Their tireless efforts on behalf of Indiana University have been an instrumental part of the university’s success."

More about the teaching and service award recipients