Indiana University recognizes newest distinguished professors

At symposiums held on the Indiana University Bloomington and IUPUI campuses, IU President Michael A. McRobbie recognized the 10 outstanding faculty who were recently appointed as distinguished professors.

The distinguished professorship is the university's highest academic rank for scholars and researchers, and the appointments are determined through a rigorous evaluation process by a committee of faculty members and approved by the Board of Trustees on the recommendation of the IU president.

"The title of distinguished professor is held by faculty members who have transformed their fields of study and have earned international recognition," McRobbie said. "Universities' distinguished professors epitomize what it means to be a scholar. Their remarkable research, teaching, and service in an extraordinarily wide range of disciplines represent the pinnacle of public education."

IU President McRobbie shakes hands with Catherine Pilachowski
IU President McRobbie stands with eight of the distinguished professors
Someone takes a mobile photo of IU President McRobbie with Consul-General of Brazil in Chicago Ambassador Maria Winkler

From left: IU President Michael A. McRobbie recognizes Catherine Pilachowski, one of IU's new distinguished professors; McRobbie poses for a photo with eight of the 10 recently appointed distinguished professors at the symposium on the Bloomington campus; McRobbie stands with Consul-General of Brazil in Chicago Ambassador Maria Winkler while their photo is taken during the event. Photos by Alex Kumar, Indiana University

IU Bloomington's most recent distinguished professors are Arnaldo Cohen, Rudy Professor of Music in the Jacobs School of Music; and five from the College of Arts and Sciences: Eduardo S. Brondizio, professor of anthropology; Elisabeth A. Lloyd, the Arnold and Maxine Tanis Chair of History and Philosophy of Science and Medicine; Kenneth P. Mackie, the Linda and Jack Gill Chair of Neuroscience and professor of psychological and brain sciences; Catherine A. Pilachowski, professor and the Daniel Kirkwood Chair in Astronomy; and Samrat Upadhyay, the Martha C. Kraft Professor of Humanities in the Department of English. Another IU Bloomington appointee, Kirsten A. Grønbjerg, is also affiliated with IUPUI; she is professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at IU Bloomington and Efroymson Chair in Philanthropy at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy at IUPUI.

Appointees from the School of Medicine at Indianapolis are Michael J. Econs, the Glenn W. Irwin Jr. Professor of Endocrinology and Metabolism; Sharon M. Moe, the Stuart A. Kleit Professor of Medicine and professor of anatomy and cell biology; and Michael A. Weiss, the Robert A. Harris Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

Kirsten Gronbjerg speaks at a podium, a presentation is lit up on a screen behind her
Michael Weiss shakes hands with IU President McRobbie
Michael Econs speaks from behind a podium

From left: Kirsten Grønbjerg presents her research; Michael Econs speaks to the audience gathered at the symposium at IUPUI; and Michael Weiss shakes hands with McRobbie when he is recognized at the event. Photos by Liz Kaye, Indiana University

At both symposiums, each professor gave presentations about their work. McRobbie and the newly appointed distinguished professors were joined at the symposiums by former and current members of the IU Board of Trustees as well as vice presidents, deans and esteemed faculty.

Consul-General of Brazil in Chicago Ambassador Maria Winkler attended the celebration, and IUPUI Chancellor Nasser Paydar and Chancellor and Executive Vice President Emeritus Charles Bantz participated in the event in Indianapolis.

"The university's students and its campuses have benefited beyond measure from the superb accomplishments, scholarship and integrity of the IU faculty members who have attained IU's distinguished professorship," McRobbie said.

More about the distinguished professors