IU President and First Lady celebrate the men's swimming and diving team's exceptional season

Indiana University President and First Lady McRobbie took time to personally congratulate the 2017-18 IU men's swimming and diving team on winning the Big Ten Championship for the second consecutive year by hosting a dinner for the team at Bryan House.

They met up with the student athletes, the team's coaches and IU Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass to celebrate the team's historic achievements.

From the left: IU President Michael A. McRobbie congratulates the men's swimming and diving team on a exceptional season. The team gathers for a photo at Bryan House during the celebration. IU President McRobbie talks with Senior Levi Brock, a member of the men's swimming team. Photos by James Brosher, IU Communications

At the event, IU President Michael A. McRobbie recognized the rich tradition of IU's swimming and diving program, which earned six consecutive NCAA swimming championships from 1968 to 1973 and 20 consecutive and 23 total Big Ten Conference titles under Coach Doc Counsilman. IU athletes won more than 100 national diving titles from 1959 to 1989 under Coach Hobie Billingsley.

At the 2018 conference championship, the first repeated Big Ten championship win since 1985, members of the men's team won 15 of 21 events. The team also finished third in the men's NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, the program's highest finish in 43 years.

More about the historic achievements of IU student athletes