Indiana University honors faculty and graduate students for outstanding teaching and service

IU President Michael A. McRobbie recognized eight faculty members and three graduate students this spring for excellence in teaching and service.

"Teaching and service are at the heart of Indiana University's mission and have been for its nearly 200-year history," McRobbie said. "They are essential to the university's strategic priorities, including fulfilling a commitment to student success, maintaining a community of scholars and growing as a global institution."

The recipients were from IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Kokomo and IU Northwest during the 2018 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching, which was held in Alumni Hall of the Indiana Memorial Union. The annual event marks Founders Day, a traditional event recalling the university's founding in 1820.

From the top: The teaching and service award recipients with IU President McRobbie at the 2018 Celebration of Distinguished Teaching. McRobbie addresses the award recipients and attendees at the celebration. The attendees gathered in Alumni Hall of the Indiana Memorial Union for the annual event that marks Founders Day.  Photos by Chaz Mottinger, IU Communications

"The faculty members and doctoral students we are honoring have done exemplary work, modeling dedication to their students, innovative approaches to teaching, and engagement with the campus, the broader community and the world. They are highly deserving of this recognition, and I will be delighted to present these awards."

Teaching award recipients were Pravina Shukla, professor in the Department of Folklore and Ethnomusicology in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington; Susan Hyatt, professor of anthropology in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI and an affiliate faculty member at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy; Christopher Young, associate professor in the departments of history, philosophy, political science and religious studies at IU Northwest; Anastasia Morrone, university associate vice president for learning technologies and IUPUI dean of IT; Tara Kingsley, assistant professor of education at IU Kokomo; IU Bloomington doctoral students Katherine Altizer in the Department of Musicology in the Jacobs School of Music; Collin Bjork in the Department of English in the College of Arts and Sciences; and Eric Sevell in the departments of sociology and criminal justice in the College of Arts and Sciences. 

Service award recipients were Beth Gazley, a professor in the School of Public and Environmental Affairs and a specialist in nonprofit management, inter-organizational collaboration, membership associations and volunteerism; John Parrish-Sprowl, professor of communication studies in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, and Ash Soni, professor of operations and decision technologies and executive associate dean for academic programs in the Kelley School of Business. 

Find out more about the award recipients