Honorary Doctor of Science

President McRobbie received an honorary doctor of science, the highest academic honor IU can bestow, at the IU Bloomington undergraduate commencement ceremony on May 8, 2021.

Chancellor’s Medallions

President McRobbie received Chancellor’s Medallions from IU East, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest, IU South Bend, and IU Southeast, making him the first individual to be honored by all five of the IU regional campuses with this special recognition.

White Coat presentation

The IU School of Medicine presented President McRobbie with a personalized White Coat to thank him for contributions to the IUSM on May 4, 2021.

City of Indianapolis proclamation of Michael A. McRobbie Day
Board of Aeons book commemorating the McRobbie era
The Well House Society gift of a limestone bench in President McRobbie's honor

Further awards and honors

  • Declaration making April 14, 2021, “Michael A. McRobbie Day,” Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett
  • Special resolution honoring President McRobbie’s leadership, Indianapolis City-County Council
  • IU South Bend Board of Advisors resolution honoring President McRobbie’s service to IU and IUSB on March 10, 2021
  • Lilly Family School of Philanthropy Board of Visitors recommended the creation of a prize in honor of President McRobbie and First Lady Laurie Burns McRobbie on April 15, 2021
  • School of Public Health Bloomington presented President McRobbie with a plaque April 16, 2021
  • Board of Aeons created an endowment in President McRobbie’s name and made First Lady Laurie Burns McRobbie an honorary member on April 17, 2021
  • University Faculty Council passed a resolution honoring President McRobbie for his leadership of Indiana University and presented him with a unique glass work featuring the Metz Bicentennial Carillon on April 27, 2021
  • IU Athletics presented President McRobbie with a framed collage of President McRobbie and First Lady Laurie Burns McRobbie at athletics events, along with a personalized “I” blanket on May 3, 2021