Professional Background: Professor of languages at Asbury (now DePauw) University (1837–1843), president of Fort Wayne Female College (1849–1850), president of Whitewater College (1850–1855), professor of mathematics at Asbury University (1857–1860)

Cyrus Nutt was elected to be Indiana University’s fifth president in 1860 and was installed on June 27, 1861. IU became coeducational during Nutt’s administration, admitting its first female student in 1867. Nutt led the university for 15 years before resigning in 1875. He died a few weeks after his resignation.